Skip Navigation
    Email this page to a friend

About MCTC

Four sites, the Maysville Campus, the Rowan Campus in Morehead, the Licking Valley Campus in Cynthiana and the East Kentucky Correctional Complex, and a host of satellite instructional locations make up Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) operating under the statewide Kentucky Community & Technical College System. By providing education and training close to where people live and work, MCTC offers the region's residents the opportunity to complete certificate, diploma, and associate degree programs that prepare them to enter a career field or to proceed with a baccalaureate program.  Day, evening, web-enhanced, web-based, and ITV classes enable working adults to update their professional skills at times that are compatible with their work and family responsibilities.   Partnerships with high schools and business and industry help students gain college credits or workplace skills to meet their educational and career goals.  The college takes pride in the ability of faculty and staff to create the best possible opportunities in postsecondary education.  Student success is MCTC’s number one priority, and hundreds graduate or complete training, certificates or diplomas each semester to help contribute to the success of their communities.  MCTC offers students quality education that is practicable and fosters ideals of life-long learning.



From its beginnings in 1968, to 1997, the Maysville Campus operated as Maysville Community College, a part of the University of Kentucky Community College System.  It became part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) with the passage of the Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997.The Maysville Campus is located on 118 acres.  Its original building is the 53,000 square-foot Administration Building constructed in 1969.  In 1983, the 16,231 square-foot Denham Wing was added.  The third building added to the campus was the 31,314 square-foot Calvert Student Center that was completed in 1992 and is connected to the Denham Wing.  In 2002, the 45,000 square-foot Technical Center became the fourth and newest building on campus.  These buildings help to define the courtyard, a pleasant and functional outdoor space for student activities. The Maysville facility has undergone an approximately $4 million renovation starting in the Fall 2001 to rid the buildings of mold, to correct structural problems, and to construct new heating, air conditioning, and ventilation systems.  This effort has enhanced environmental safety and the aesthetic quality of the campus.The campus has some 51 full-time and 100 part-time faculty and 60 staff members.  Campus enrollment is around 1,800 per semester in 20 programs with 1,000 on campus and the remainder in distance learning and high school dual-credit offerings.



In 1989, a center opened in Cynthiana to bring credit classes to the area.  In Fall 2002, the Licking Valley Campus (LVC) moved from a leased facility to its new 19,000 square-foot building in Cynthiana, constructed at a cost of $2.6 million.  Its proximity to the high school and area technology center makes it an ideal location both for adults and for high school students who wish to take college-level courses.  Campus enrollment is about 500 per semester with 400 on campus and the remainder in high school dual-credit offerings.  There are also business and industry courses and continuing education classes offered.  There are 17 employees with six faculty and five programs offered.



The Rowan Campus was originally opened as the Rowan County Extension Center in 1970 under the administration of the Ashland Vocational School.  The original location was on Second Street in Morehead.        Vocational Education Region Nine was initiated as a separate institution on August 16, 1972.  As Rowan Technical College, it was previously part of the Kentucky TECH system under the governance of the Kentucky Cabinet for Workforce Development, Department for Technical Education.  An allocation of $5.135 million was made available in 1982 to build and equip the 64,000 square-foot campus facility.  The building was completed and occupied in October 1984.  Rowan Campus is located five miles north of Morehead, Kentucky, on Kentucky Highway 32 on a seven-acre tract of land adjacent to the Rowan County Senior High School.  Since moving to the present location, the Rowan Campus has undergone several name and administrative changes.            Rowan Technical College became a part of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS).  The Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997 created KCTCS, now consisting of 16 colleges.  KCTCS provides accessible and affordable education and training through associate degree, diploma, and certificate programs in occupational/technical fields; pre-baccalaureate transfer degrees; adult, continuing, and developmental education; customized training for business and industry; and distance learning.In 2001, the technical college began a process of consolidation with then Maysville Community College.  In December 2004, the colleges fully merged as Maysville Community and Technical College. The campus has some 43 employees, with around 22 full-time and 15 part-time faculty and 15 programs of instruction leading to certificates, degrees and diplomas.  Enrollment is about 400 per semester in on-campus credit classes and 400 in other offerings.  These include business and industry courses, continuing education classes, and fire/rescue training.



The East Kentucky Branch Campus (EKBC) is located in the Eastern Kentucky Correctional Complex, a medium security state prison, in West Liberty, Kentucky, approximately 30 miles south of Morehead.  It is the largest correctional facility in the Commonwealth of Kentucky with an all-male inmate population of approximately 1,750.  Of these, some 220 are enrolled in an educational program, including five technical programs, college transfer programs, and adult education and GED classes.The educational unit was opened in October of 1993.  The State of Kentucky through the Justice Cabinet, Department of Corrections, manages the facility and provides funding for salaries, supplies, and program equipment.  The Kentucky Community and Technical College System under a Memorandum of Agreement operates the instructional programs. 

Maysville Community and Technical College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award the associate degree. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Maysville Community and Technical College.


Note: The Commission is to be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution's significant non-compliance with a requirement or standard.